Stolen Ring

I came back into the room and sat down in front of the TV, with you. My thumb rubbed against the base of my ring finger on my right hand.

“Where’s my ring?”

It was a ring my cousin gave me. I had told her it looked very pretty on her and she took it off and gave it me. No hesitation. One of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me.

I look over and you’re twirling it on your index finger, smirking.

“Give it back!”

I always turn a bit childish around you, probably to mask my true emotions but I bet you can see right through them.

“No. I found it and now it’s mine.”
“Give it back.”
“No.”
“It’s mine!”
“It’s mine now.”
“Hmph.”

I turn toward the TV with a frown on my face. After a bit of time of not really watching the TV and seething but also secretly enjoying the attention, I see your fist move in front of my face. You unfold your fingers and I see my ring. I glare at you and you nod. I smile and take the ring.

Leave a Reply

