Inappropriate Language

So, I was at Macy’s today, just browsing through clothes ya know. And that song Scream and Shout came on. And ok, I’ll admit, I think it’s catchy. But they didn’t censor it. At all. And Britney curses at least 5 times in that song. And I didn’t even flinch when she cursed. In fact, I did something worse. I sang the lyrics with her and the last word was a curse and it just came out of my mouth. I’ve become so used to hearing and reading bad language that sometimes I curse without even intending to.

And then, after that, another song came on. It was very inappropriate. I believe it is called Talk Dirty. It doesn’t have any curse words but it straight up talks about sex. No hiding it behind strange lyrics. And as I was trying to comprehend some of the lyrics, I ran into my friend and her mother. And it was great seeing them. But talking to her mother while that disgusting song was blasting in my ears was…embarrassing. I didn’t want to be around a mother who has such strong moral values while listening to such degrading music.

I just hate how I’m becoming so desensitized to cursing and inappropriate music.

Leave a Reply

